Kabaal klankbaan will officially launch their second full-length album, entitled Baptism, on 6 June 2015 at Asbos Theatre in Die Wilgers, Pretoria.


Photo by Christelle Duvenage – http://www.christelleduvenage.com/

“It’s personal, heartfelt, and emotional,” says singer-songwriter Floris Groenewald of the new record, “but also doesn’t forget to smile, laugh, and most importantly – rock.” Baptism, self-produced by Groenewald and mostly recorded in Kabaal klankbaan’s bedroom studio, is darker and more intimate than previous releases. Since the majority of the album’s tracks had been written as far back as 2011, many of the songs are already familiar to audiences who have seen Kabaal klankbaan perform more than 100 shows in the past four and a half years.

While retaining the familiar folk-rock elements of Kabaal klankbaan’s previous work and many club, pub, and festival shows, Baptism also explores new sounds, including electric and electronic elements to sonically sketch dark and dystopian landscapes.

Kabaal klankbaan is the brainchild of singer-songwriter Floris Groenewald which mostly takes the form of a solo acoustic performance, but isn’t limited to it. Various musicians and technicians such as session musicians Siobhan Lloyd-Jones and Raldo Mattheus, Indie-folk singers Hey, River and Shotgun Tori, and drummer/mastering engineer Peach van Pletzen, helped craft Baptism, and the album launch show promises to show Kabaal klankbaan “like you’ve never seen it before.”

The album will officially be launched at Asbos Theatre on 6 June 2015 at 19h30 for 20h00. Tickets available from www.asbos.co.za.

Baptism will be available on iTunes in June 2015, and can currently be pre-ordered from http://kabaalklankbaan.bandcamp.com/ – stream preview tracks at http://soundcloud.com/kabaalklankbaan/sets/baptism-preview-tracks.


I’m sorry for falling in love with you.
– “Sorry”


1. Phone Calls
2. A change in the weather
3. Not tonight, Josephine (unplugged)
4. Radio Silence
5. Freedom Day
6. This town is for lovers
7. Sorry
8. Player Two (unplugged)
9. Not Alone
10. Valentine’s Day
11. Thinking (feat. Hey,River)
12. Let’s make haste